Welsh Music Guild Awards 2022

Composer Edward Rhys-Harry was the recipient of the 2022 Tlws y Cerddor at a ceremony in the National Eisteddfod, Tregaron.

Other awards were presented in Cardiff at the ceremony detailed below:

The 2022 John Edwards Memorial Award, the most prestigious non-competitive award given in Wales for services to the nation’s music, was awarded to Jeremy Huw Williams.

The 2022 Sir Geraint Evans Award for a significant contribution to Welsh Music was awarded to North Wales International Music Festival.

The 2022 Glanville Jones Award for an outstanding achievement in music in Wales was awarded to Rhian Samuel, composer.

The 2022 Joseph Parry Award for an exceptional contribution to musical education in Wales was awarded to Lynne Plowman, composer.

The 2022 J. Mervyn Williams Award for a contribution to the communication of Welsh music through media production was awarded to David Jackson, Artistic Director, BBC Cardiff Singer of the World.

The 2022 Geraint Stanley Jones Award for a contribution to music communication through broadcasting in Wales was awarded to Rhuanedd Richards, Director of BBC Wales.

The inaugural Pendine Park Award for health and wellbeing in music was awarded to Jenny Pearson, singer and conductor.

The 2022 Paul Mealor Award for Young Composers was awarded to Claire Victoria Roberts.

The 2022 Paul Mealor Bursary for Student Composers was awarded to Cameron Biles-Liddell.